Lately I've started to notice that every now and then, a link I'll click on in my friends page redirects through outboundlink.net.
For instance,
http://www.furbuy.com/auctions/1015
Now, if you hover over that link, you'll see that it seems to go exactly where it says it will. But if you click on it, you end up going to this lengthy link on 'outboundlink.net' with an ID and the page you were on - and it'll forcibly open in a new window, too.
Some digging revealed that this is happening because LJ is including this on every page it generates:
<script src = "http://l-stat.livejournal.com/js/pages tats/dRev.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script language = "JavaScript" type = "text/javascript" >
var DR_id = '1111'; // Is this a real ID or we'll be asked to change it? :)
DrivingRevenue();
</script>The Javascript is a big mess of obfuscated, packed code. A little Googling showed me how to reverse this packing; some further cursory hacking showed me that it seems to redirecting any link whose end matches this list through outboundlink.net:
ebay.com
amazon.com
ebay.co.uk
ebay.ca
newegg.com
cars.com
geeks.com
musiciansfriend.com
bestbuy.com
edmunds.com
sears.com
tigerdirect.com
bodybuilding.com
ebay.fr
auctionads.com
shoppingads.com
jcwhitney.com
autoanything.com
autopartswarehouse.com
motorcycle-superstore.com
buy.com
batteries.com
4wheelparts.com
carfax.com
jr.com
vanns.com
amazon.co.uk
bikebandit.com
motosport.com
ebags.com
itunes.apple.com
godaddy.com
dell.com
overstock.com
4wd.com
autobarn.net
guitarcenter.com
compusa.com
6ave.com
etronics.com
partstore.com
emusic.com
music123.com
ticketmaster.com
meritline.com
mwave.com
skype.com
abt.com
zappos.com
ritzcamera.com
borders.com
officedepot.com
autosportcatalog.com
sedo.com
zipzoomfly.com
www.web.com
onsale.com
hotels.com
pcconnection.com
streetsideauto.com
macmall.com
thenerds.net
advanceautoparts.com
ecost.com
hammacher.com
autopartsgiant.com
abesofmaine.com
drugstore.com
gnc.com
1and1.com
networksolutions.com
fandango.com
all-battery.com
amazon.ca
bhphotovideo.com
dotster.com
borders.com
drivingcomfort.com
ebay.com.au
ebay.ie
ebay.de
ebay.es
ebay.nl
ebay.at
ebay.be
ebay.ch
ebay.it
finishline.com
leasetrader.com
macconnection.com
officemax.com
peapod.com
pcmall.com
stubhub.com
travelocity.com
orbitz.com
discountperformanceautoparts.com
performance4trucks.com
priceline.com
paintball-online.com
wineenthusiast.com
americanmuscle.com
jegs.com
summitracing.com
shoemall.com
www.fye.com
1800petmeds.com
autoparts123.com
blinds.com
dell.ca
magazines.com
store.nascar.com
petsmart.com
shop.sirius.com
cycle-parts.com
hmhd.com
allthingsjeep.com
autopartsnerd.com
eforcity.com
onecall.com
pcuniverse.com
activemusician.com
allbikesupershop.com
kmart.com
realhog.com
target.com
autogeek.net
sheetmusicplus.com
partsgeek.com
dvdplanet.com
shopping.hp.com
andysautosport.com
jafrum.com
cdwow.com
euro.dell.com
novatech.co.uk
tesco.com
misco.co.uk
play.com
johnlewis.com
tvcables.co.uk
comet.co.uk
dixons.co.uk
pcworld.co.uk
digitalempireonline.co.uk
rapidonline.com
meshcomputers.com
sharp.co.uk
currys.co.uk
electricaldiscountuk.co.uk
mymemory.co.uk
digitaldirectuk.com
ajelectronics.co.uk
microdirect.co.uk
7dayshop.com
advancedmp3players.co.uk
be-direct.co.uk
hifibitz.co.uk
I can't tell what outboundlink.net may be doing to the link because it's not responding right now - this is why I really noticed it and stopped to investigate it. There's nothing there for humans to see, the WHOIS information just points to godaddy, and Google turns up next to nothing except for people on cosplay.com's forums wondering... why are links from LJ to that site going through outboundlink.net?
My immediate reaction is: What the fuck, LJ? When did you slip this in? Who in outboundlink.net and what are they doing to our links for you? Are they just tracking or are they doing more? The fact that the main function is named "drivingRevenue" does not exactly lead me to believe this is just tracking!
They're doing this to everyone, paid and free users alike. I watch the LJ news communities and I do not recall hearing anything about them doing things like this to links. This is not making me happy to see.
Why are they doing this via this stealthy obfuscated Javascript instead of being upfront and altering all the links they serve? Metafilter, for instance, alters all Amazon links in posts and comments by adding their own affiliate code - in the HTML, so it shows up when you mouse over it. They're not going to great lengths to hide what they're doing. LJ, on the other hand, is tracking and whoknowswhatting all your money-making links in this furtive manner.
I'm blocking this "dRev" script, myself. And Dreamwidth is looking that much better.
If anyone wants to investigate this further, please do! I'll be getting on a plane soon, so I don't really have time to dig around - though I may try to deobfuscate the script on the plane so I can see what the fuck it's doing. Or I might just kick back and read instead.
Edit: Okay, this might be the services of one drivingrevenue.com, and it could be just used to help serve ads. But why the hell is this shit showing up on my pages and making links intermittently pop up in new windows? I'm paying money to LJ to not have ads on my journal, and having this script show up - especially with the fact that its primary selling point is "hack your affiliate link onto everywhere" - feels like it's right on the edge of breaking that trust, if not over it.
TL,DR: Livejournal is using sneaky Javascript to pass a lot of e-commerce links on everyone's journals through a mysterious tracking site, and forcing them to open in a new window to boot.
edit: It's also putting its own affiliate link in; see my followup.
edit: For more of what I figured out, see the drivingrevenue.net tag. Also since this bit of code-sleuthing is getting linked all over, hello, LJ! I'm normally an artist, who's doing this today instead of getting back to work on her dirty webcomic [NSFW].
Edit, much later: Comments locked because spambots love ths post.
Found googling "outboundlink dRev.js"
2010-03-03 04:30 pm (UTC)
Looks like LiveJournal's trying to force folks through an affiliate program to pick up some extra money for user behavior.
Found googling "outboundlink dRev.js"
2010-03-03 04:32 pm (UTC)
http://www.drivingrevenue.com/affiliate
Looks like LJ's trying to pick up some spare change.
Re: Found googling "outboundlink dRev.js"
2010-03-03 04:44 pm (UTC)
I also wonder at the "Is this a real ID or will we be asked to change it?" comment. Could be that they're not doing anything yet because it's still being set up.
2010-03-03 04:36 pm (UTC)
Would you be willing to share how you're doing this?
2010-03-03 04:41 pm (UTC)
For Macs using other ad-blockers, or other systems, do whatever's appropriate to block either ""l-stat.livejournal.com/js/pagestats/dR
Edited at 2010-03-03 04:46 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 04:44 pm (UTC)
Wordpress
2010-03-03 04:49 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 05:49 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 05:55 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 06:11 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 07:32 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 07:39 pm (UTC)
2010-03-03 08:29 pm (UTC)
Seriously though, wtf. Paid accounts shouldn't have to deal with any of this sort of crap.
2010-03-05 06:45 am (UTC)
2010-03-03 09:30 pm (UTC)
This So fucking this. I've been there for a while with the username of "electrickeet", and they've not yet sucked even remotely as much as LJ has because they're honest about how they do everything. The things that LJ's taken back because of user outrage? These things just don't even happen on DW because they actually have some goddamned morals over there.
2010-03-04 12:00 am (UTC)
2010-03-04 12:34 am (UTC)
It has already been pointed out that this is related to http://www.drivingrevenue.com. And according to http://www.domaintools.com/reverse-i
2010-03-04 07:40 pm (UTC)
2010-03-04 01:14 am (UTC)
2010-03-04 02:00 am (UTC)
2010-03-04 07:42 pm (UTC)
2010-03-04 03:45 am (UTC)
2010-03-04 11:58 am (UTC)
2010-03-04 03:25 pm (UTC)
I'm not making any assumptions; I'm just saying "hey there's this bit of Javascript that seems to be coming from LJ that fucks with the links for e-commerce sites and does its business in ways that raise warning flags, what the fuck?".
2010-03-04 04:30 pm (UTC)
When I was in New Orleans, I bought a copy of Pynchon's latest, Inherent Vice
2010-03-04 04:59 pm (UTC)
2010-03-04 05:09 pm (UTC)
Logged in, using default UserAgent and IE UserAgent: No outboundlink.net
Logged out, using default UserAgent and IE UserAgent: Links are redirected via outboundlink.net
In my case, it doesn't happen if I'm logged in, only if I'm logged out.
I'm fine with this. It's fair to do revenue generation on non-paying users, IMO.
2010-03-04 05:20 pm (UTC)
Also it's shearing off any affiliate ID I may have used and substituting its own… not good.
2010-03-04 10:39 pm (UTC)
2010-03-04 11:54 pm (UTC)
Edited at 2010-03-05 02:41 am (UTC)
2010-03-05 12:01 am (UTC)
2010-03-05 12:05 am (UTC)
2010-03-05 02:21 am (UTC)
2010-03-05 03:21 am (UTC)
In fact, I loaded up the dRev.js directly into my browser...and got this:
/* this code is removed until we can get it off all our pages */
Hmm, I wonder, is LJ in the process of removing this "feature?"
2010-03-05 06:15 am (UTC)
2010-03-05 04:29 am (UTC)
And, um . . . followed your link, LOVE your dirty webcomic, am looking forward to the next chapter being posted!! :D :D :D
-- A ^__^
2010-03-05 04:34 am (UTC)
2010-03-05 06:44 am (UTC)
2010-04-24 03:53 am (UTC)
2010-04-27 04:43 am (UTC)